Fashion · laraswanderings

Victorian Boho Purse

2014-01-28 14.23.41-1I inherited a massive amount of doilies from my mother and great-grandmother. They are both no longer around to continue to create these treasures, so I want to keep them close to me. I also don’t have nearly enough surfaces to display even half of them. This is a bit of a problem for me because as I said in an earlier post: what is the point of owning something if it just sits in a box in the closet never to be seen? This has led me to some crafts that I have made for the sole purpose of showcasing these wonderful heirlooms. In this project I took an old canvas messenger bag that I owned and covered it in scraps of burgundy material so the doilies would contrast, then I edged around the zippers and the bottom of the bag with a pink silk ribbon. I created a focal point on the front of the bag with bunched up brown lace around a brooches that belonged to my grandmother. The design is simpler than it sounds, but the effect is very boho and meaningful. This is sooo me and will always be a treasured bag that I will use often!

Leave a Reply

